Mercato Centrale

Some years ago, I stayed in Florence, Italy.  I would get up early and wander down the road to the Central Market [Mercato Centrale] in order to buy a good espresso and also take photographs.  I find markets fascinating and this is one of the best.  The range and quality of the food on sale is second to none – what I would give to be able to shop there every week!  Towards the end, there are some pictures of a flea market I came across as I walked the other side of the river Arno.

The pictures are a study of the colours, objects and people, because of course there is constant movement and constant trading.  I shall not make a note against every photo this time.  Also, these were all taken on a little point and shoot camera, great for immediate pictures.  Note that my new large format of image doesn’t work here because these were small to start with, so small they will sadly stay!

…..and now the flea market:

slideshow here.

2 responses

  1. Love it!!! I’ve taken some of my best shots with a point-&-shoot… never underestimate those little guys right? !! 🙂 **

    August 11, 2011 at 7:42 am

  2. paulmor

    Absolutely. They’re great when you need to capture something quickly, the only frustration with SLR’s is having to get them all set up, by which time the moment has passed!

    August 11, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Leave a Reply

