Sent to Coventry

Sorry.  That was a really poor selection of title, wasn’t it?  What am I on about?  Well let me explain.  You see, I have worked for a company based in or around Coventry for many years.  Strange, you might think, given that I live in the wilds of Suffolk.  But, as is the nature of work these days, I don’t actually go to the office very often, my job taking me instead around the highways and byways of this wonderful country.

And, as if to at least try and make some sense of this post, I should say that it is about a bike shop.  Regular readers will already know of my fondness for such wonderful old-fashioned bike shops such as Madgetts of Diss.  And it so happened that, on my way home from a visit to the office yesterday, I looked in on a similar place hidden in the most obscure part of Coventry.

I’m referring to a shop known as Jardine Cycles – these places are always family run and hidden away in some unexpected part of town, and this one is no exception.  You have to trawl through an extensive housing estate to find them, plonked in the corner of a 1960s shopping precinct in the at-times-somewhat-lively suburb known as Tile Hill.  But when you find it, you enter a shop so densely packed with bikes and quality accessories that you have that Madgetts feeling all over again!

Hidden away and worth seeking out!

Hidden away and worth seeking out!

Entering the shop in search of cycle luggage, I was absolutely amazed to see the sheer range of bits and pieces – two rooms are filled to bursting with stock, and the walls and ceiling are similarly crowded.  Click here to see the image gallery, in order to give yourself an idea of the place.

They had the exact item I wanted, and this is in contrast to the fact that Wiggle and all the other big players (SJS and so on) were out of stock for weeks ahead.  Service was friendly and prompt.  I left happy, and heartened that such places still exist – they give the impression of having a pretty good local client base.

So, if you happen to be Midlands-based, you could do much worse than get yourself down to Jardines to peruse the stock.  You’re bound to find that you need something!

3 responses

  1. I used to get my kit from Jardines when I rode for Warwick Uni!

    I’d completely forgotten them… Thanks for taking me back 20 years Paul :-D..

    April 9, 2010 at 6:21 pm

  2. paulmor

    All part of the service, Peter. I shall be doing a post featuring all the pubs you used to go to as a student shortly!!!

    April 9, 2010 at 6:27 pm

  3. Warwick Uni was a great place for bars, we had 14 on Campus! Probably explains why I forgot about Jardines… 😉

    April 9, 2010 at 6:34 pm

Leave a Reply

