Norfolk Raid pt II [orthodox]

With glorious weather in evidence, and more forecast, I have been out on a ride this morning which took in 41 miles of North Suffolk and Norfolk.

My route was an extension of the ‘normal’ ride I have been doing, which takes in a sweep of about 16 miles up to Market Weston.  But today, on passing the point where I commonly turn south and ride home, I thought ‘what the heck’, and carried on.

A light warm breeze blew from the south, but I made a 7 mile easterly detour towards Garboldisham and then east on the A1066 towards Diss.  This is a busy but fast road and I was glad to get back onto quieter roads as I turned south towards Redgrave.

I linked up with the A143 towards Bury St Edmunds, and from here cut south to Walsham, then Stowlangtoft and finally, after a cereal bar and lucozade stop at Norton garage, home.

Average speed for the ride was an impressive 18 mph.

Leave a Reply

