Thetford Forest pt II

I have been out to Thetford Forest to ride the trails at High Lodge – SO much fun!

I decided to take the new bike out and put it through its paces; having only ridden the family trail before, with my seven year old daughter in tow, this was a different experience altogether.

New Bike in natural setting

New Bike in natural setting

So, I started by attacking the Blue trail.  The saddle was a bit low and I needed to get back to the Bike shop at High Lodge to raise it, so I just ploughed on – it’s an intensely dull trail with very little excitement to find.

Typical Blue trail scene

Typical Blue trail scene

So, after a quick hack around this trail and a welcome stop at the Brandon Forest Centre for Lucozade,  I went into the bike shop (Bike Art) and picked up a multi bike tool, sorted the seat post out and got my disc brakes fettled.

Then I hit the red trail, not really knowing what to expect, I have to say.  But almost from the word go, it was evident in spades that this was going to be serious fun.

I didnt try this, give it a week or two.....

I didn't try this, give it a week or two.....

The track is singletrack, with few uphills, and it mostly passes within the trees.  Sandy and rocky patches alternate, with a few small roots in places (notably a patch near the start which can catch you out).

Fast snaking track with berms

Fast snaking track with berms

Once you get the hang of the many snaking turns, and learn to use the berms to keep your line, it just becomes so much fun to ride – I forgot about being tired, I was having so much fun!

Big, wide berm for fast cornering

Big, wide berm for fast cornering

I had a rest at the end, but was soon impatient to get back onto the trail.  I simply did the red trail again – and the growing familiarity meant I went much faster the second time.    This place has to be tried – it gives you so much variation in terrain and challenge.  I’m going back again soon!

Just look at that run - let me at it!!!

Just look at that run - let me at it!!!

Leave a Reply

