The Wyman Ride, and the days are getting longer

I have done this ride a few times now, a 13-miler that I use when time is tight as it only takes about 40-45 minutes and crams in a bit of up and down too.  On Saturday,I had been busy with other stuff, I decided at 3pm to go for a short ride as an alternative to yet another frustrating weekend doing nothing.

The first couple of miles takes in a fast, mainly downhill section, from which I turned south and along a four-mile stretch of reasonably undulating countryside.  Turning due east at Gedding, I am presented, once I have left the village, with the prospect of Gedding Hall, home of me Bill Wyman of Rolling Stones fame.  How much he actually lives there is questionable, but it’s a fine house, set in rolling grounds overlooking the fields.

Gedding Hall in all its glory

Gedding Hall in all its glory

From here, it is uphill for about a mile into the village of Drinkstone, where I turn onto a quiet road through Woolpit and then a slight uphill finish.

13 miles and a 17.6 mph average.

But the thing I noticed was that I can now go out for a ride at 3pm and not be worried about being ‘cut off’ by the dark – it’s now lasting almost til 5pm!  Good news!

No pictures, although the weather was clear, with a temperature of about 5 deg C and a very slight wind from the south west.

Leave a Reply

