Grey Days

I got out today for an 18-mile ride – the weather has finally relented a little and although it was grey, cool and there was a south westerly breeze, I made an average of 17.1 mph and a total time of 1.03.

I took a westerly route to Beyton and then Rougham, north to Thurston and then Great Barton and Pakenham, where the first test lies – a nice hill about 0.5 miles long.  I would guess this is about a 10% gradient and it gives the lungs a good workout.  On the first half of the route my average was 18.1 – it’s great when the wind’s behind you and you have fresh legs!!

I crossed the A1088 at Stowlangtoft and took an easterly route towards Badwell Ash, where I turned south into the headwind for the first time.  A long, slightly uphill slog followed, into Great Ashfield and then along a westerly, dead-straight road to Norton where I managed well into the 20’s all the way with the wind at my back.

The final hill saw my Christmas indulgences realised.  I have only managed one ride before today this year, and my fitness is definitely slightly down.  Let’s hope for good weather so I can put that right.

Leave a Reply

